RALEIGH – The N.C. Department of Transportation and the Governor's Highway Safety Program announced today that 3,666 drivers and passengers were cited for seat belt and child passenger safety violations during the Thanksgiving “Click It or Ticket” campaign held Nov. 25 through Dec. 1.
“North Carolina has made tremendous strides in the past 20 years when it comes to seat belt usage,” said Don Nail, director of Governor’s Highway Safety Program. “However, as long as law enforcement officers are issuing seat belt citations, we have work to do.”
To catch those who drove without buckling up, state and local law enforcement officers manned more than 6,200 checkpoints and stepped-up patrols. The counties which issued highest number of seat belt citations include:
• Wake County with 239 seat belt tickets;
• Brunswick County with 236;
• Columbus County with 147;
• Mecklenburg County with 140; and
• Johnston County with 122.
The combination of stepped-up enforcement, education and public awareness campaigns is proving effective. The seat belt usage rate in North Carolina is currently 88.6 percent, up from 87.5 percent in 2012.
In addition to cracking down on unrestrained drivers and passengers, officers across the state charged 901 motorists with driving while impaired. Officers also issued 5,007 criminal violations, including 981 drug charges. They recovered 51 stolen vehicles and captured 775 fugitives.
For county by county totals and more information regarding “Click It or Ticket” activities, contact Heather Jeffreys at (919) 707-2665, or visit the GHSP website.
|Click this image to view at original resolution|