American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Recognizes NCDOT for Leadership and Innovation Monday, October 22, 2012

RALEIGH — The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials announced today that NCDOT Secretary Gene Conti and the N.C. Turnpike Authority have won national awards in recognition of their outstanding leadership and innovation.

The awards will be presented on Nov. 18 during AASHTO’s annual meeting in Pittsburgh.

Secretary Conti will receive the Thomas H. McDonald Award. This award, considered to be the highest award given by AASHTO, was established in 1957 to honor the former chief of the Bureau of Public Roads. It is given to an individual that has “rendered continuous outstanding service over an extended period of time or has made some exceptional contribution to the art and science of highway engineering.” AASHTO is recognizing Secretary Conti for his career-long commitment to improve transportation challenges in North Carolina and throughout the country.

The Turnpike Authority will receive with the annual President’s Award for highways. This award recognizes individuals, programs or teams for improving environmental conditions, utilizing 21st century technology, implementing excellent executive management skills, increasing efficiencies and making effective use of taxpayer dollars. AASHTO is recognizing the Turnpike Authority for their success in delivering the Triangle Expressway, the state’s first modern toll road.
AASHTO, which represents state Departments of Transportation in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association serving as a catalyst for excellence in transportation.

*** NCDOT ***

Release Image
Click this image to view at original resolution

NCDOT News Releases
Search Term
Select a Category
Start Date
End Date