Pamlico Sound Ferry Routes to Adopt Alternate Schedule Sunday, July 30, 2017

OCRACOKE – Due to the emergency restrictions on visitation currently in place for Ocracoke Island, the North Carolina Department of Transportation Ferry Division will be adopting an alternate schedule for its Cedar Island-Ocracoke and Swan Quarter-Ocracoke routes beginning Monday, July 31.

The schedule will be as follows:

  • Swan Quarter to Ocracoke:     7:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
  • Ocracoke to Swan Quarter:     7:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.
  • Cedar Island to Ocracoke:       7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
  • Ocracoke to Cedar Island:       7:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.

Visitors are reminded that Hyde County’s mandatory evacuation order for visitors remains in effect. Only residents, property owners, emergency workers, vendors, and critical infrastructure personnel with Ocracoke re-entry documentation will be allowed onto Ocracoke-bound ferries. Law enforcement officers will be on hand at ferry terminals to enforce the re-entry restrictions.

The routes will resume their regular summer schedules when the emergency orders are lifted.


NCDOT News Releases
Search Term
Select a Category
Start Date
End Date