Nine New N.C. Board of Transportation Members Sworn In Friday, March 10, 2017

Fox Named as New Chair; Szlosberg-Landis Named as New Vice Chair

RALEIGH — Nine new members of the N.C. Board of Transportation were sworn in on Thursday, March 9 during the board’s monthly meeting in Raleigh and will serve four-year terms.

The new members are:

Landon Zimmer of Wilmington – Division 3 (Brunswick, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender and Sampson counties)

Valerie Jordan of Raleigh – Division 5 (Durham, Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties)

Michael S. Fox of Greensboro – Division 7 (Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Orange and Rockingham counties)

Mike Wells of Winston-Salem – Division 9 (Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Rowan and Stokes counties)

The Hon. Cullie Tarleton of Blowing Rock – Division 11 (Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counties)

John Pope of Hickory – Division 12 (Alexander, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell and Lincoln counties)

Nina Szlosberg-Landis of Raleigh – At-Large (Environmental)

Tony Lathrop of Charlotte – At-Large (Government-Related Finance and Accounting)

The Hon. Daniel McComas of Wilmington – At-Large (State Ports and Aviation)

During the meeting, the board elected Michael Fox as the new chair and Nina Szlosberg-Landis as vice chair.

The Board of Transportation is comprised of 19 men and women from across the state, representing each of the N.C. Department of Transportation’s 14 geographical divisions and five areas of statewide interest.  The members work with NCDOT staff members to make decisions about transportation policies and priorities.


Release Image
Click this image to view at original resolution

NCDOT News Releases
Search Term
Select a Category
Start Date
End Date